Nevada Check Up

To apply for benefits, click on the link or button below.  Once you have an Access Nevada account and your eligibility has been determined by DWSS, you can link your Access Nevada account to your eligibility case to report a change of address or income, request a new Medicaid insurance card, or cancel coverage.

    The Mission of the Nevada Check Up program is to provide low-cost, comprehensive health care coverage to low income, uninsured children (birth through 18) who are not covered by private insurance or Medicaid; while (1) promoting health care coverage for children; (2) encouraging individual responsibility; and (3) working with public and private health care providers and community advocates for children.

      Authorized under Title XXI of the Social Security Act, Nevada Check Up (NCU) is the State of Nevada’s Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).

        The Children’s Health Insurance Program was established by Congress to provide access to affordable health insurance for children in working, low-income families. The enabling legislation for CHIP, included in the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, funded the program for a 10 year period. Congress provided funding extension until 2009 when through the Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act (CHIPRA) Congress provided for continuation of the Program. In 2010 the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Health Care Reform) enacted maintenance of effort requirements for continuation of eligibility standards for children until October 1, 2019.

          The NCU program began providing services to Nevada's children on October 1, 1998.

            NCU delivers the basic Medicaid State Plan for health benefits, with some minor exceptions. The Medicaid provider network and Medicaid-contracted HMOs (in the urban areas of Nevada) provide the covered services to eligible children. NCU enrollees are mandated to receive treatment under an HMO in the urban areas of the state. You can find more information on the Medicaid benefit plan and the contracted HMOs on the Nevada Division of Health Care Financing and Policy website.

              The Division of Health Care Financing and Policy manages the Nevada Check Up program's health policy benefit. The Division of Welfare and Supportive Services manages the eligibility for program enrollment. Families may apply for their children through Division of Welfare and Supportive Services (DWSS) website below, or in person at a DWSS office. Office locations are listed on the DWSS website under, "Contact DWSS".

                Like Medicaid, CHIP is a joint federal-state program, with funding from both sources, and it is implemented by each state.

                  Premium Information:

                  The only cost to the Nevada Check Up enrollee is a quarterly premium. Enrollees are not required to pay co-payments, deductibles, or other charges for covered services. Premiums are determined by family size and income.

                    Premiums are charged for participation in Nevada Check Up. American Indians who are members of federally recognized Tribes and Alaska Natives are exempt from premiums. Quarterly premiums are either $25, $50 or $80, based on gross income, and are charged per family (not per child). Quarterly premiums are due the first day of each January/April/July/October for the month in which enrollment begins (e.g. the quarterly premium would be due on the first day of April for enrollment beginning the April/May/June quarter). There is a 15 day grace period for quarterly premium payments. The Division of Health Care Financing and Policy (Medicaid) sends premium, late and final notices to inform eligible families of their responsibility for payment. If payment is not received by the end of the grace period, children will be disenrolled effective the first day of the following month.

                      • Premiums are $25, $50, or $80 and are charged per family, not per child.
                      • Premiums are billed quarterly and are due every January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1.
                      • Premium payments are NOT accepted over the phone or online.
                      • Only checks or money orders are accepted - NO CASH.
                      • Timely Payments must be mailed to:

                      Nevada Check Up

                      P O Box 847346

                      Los Angeles, CA 90084-7346 

                      • Late Payments may be paid in person at the following locations Monday thru Friday 8:00am-4:45pm.

                      Carson City

                          1000 E Williams St., Suite 118
                          Carson City, NV 89701

                      Phone: (775) 684-3660


                          1010 Ruby Vista Dr., Suite 103
                          Elko, NV 89801

                      Phone: (775) 753-1191

                      Las Vegas

                          1210 S. Valley View Blvd.
                          Las Vegas, NV 89102

                      Phone: (702) 668-4200


                          745 W. Moana Ln., Suite 200
                          Reno, NV 89509

                      Phone: (775) 687-1900

                      Non-payment of premium will result in a 90 day sit-out period.

                      • If payment is received during the 90 day sit-out, coverage may be reinstated provided payment is received prior to the cutoff date.  Clients should call DHCFP if the cutoff date is unknown.  
                      • If payment is received after the 90 day sit-out, a new application is required.


                        Nevada Check Up
                        1000 E. William Street
                        Suite 118
                        Carson City, NV 89701

                        (775) 684-3660