Notice to Employers - Income Withholding Requirements
NRS 31A.090 requires all employers with 50 or more staff to submit child support payments to the State Collections and Disbursement Unit (SCaDU) by electronic funds transfer (EFT).
EFT Instructions and Information for Employers
Submitting $2 Income Withholding Fee:
Employers are required to deduct an additional $2.00 fee from the
income due the employee for each income withholding, not to exceed two
withholding fees ($4.00 total) per
month per employee. Each payment to the State Treasurer
must identify the full name, social security number, case number and
amount transmitted for each employee.
**This statute (NRS 31A.075) only applies to employers that are doing business in the State of Nevada
and sending the collections to the Nevada State Collection and Disbursement Unit (SCaDU). If a
Nevada employer receives a withholding order from another state that directs the money to be sent to
the out-of- state collection and disbursement unit, the $2.00 fee does not apply.
NOTE: This fee cannot be sent with the
normal child support withholding payment, as it goes to a separate bank
account and address. The income withholding
fees are payable at least quarterly via:
The State of Nevada prefers to accept funds
electronically using the CCD+ format. We also have the capability of
accepting the CTX820 format. Both formats contain an electronic
addenda record as outlined by the National Automated
Clearing House Association (NACHA). Please contact your financial
institution prior to sending money through this process to
ensure that these format requirements can be met.
To submit Income Withholding Fees via EFT, use the following information:
- EFT Routing Number: 021052053
- EFT Account Number: 99167310
- FIPS Code: 32000
The required income withholding fee may be paid online without a convenience fee.
To pay by phone, please call 1-877-836-6550 and follow the instructions.
You will need to provide the full name of the employee, employee's social security number and UPI/case number (optional).
The following payment types are accepted: Credit and debit cards
with the Visa, MasterCard, or Discover logo. There is no convenience
fee for this service. Your financial institution may charge
Payments by mail must be made by money order, cashier's
check or business check payable to Nevada State Treasurer and sent to
the following address:
NEVADA STATE TREASURER'S OFFICE
***NOTE: This address is for the $2.00 FEE ONLY. CHILD SUPPORT PAYMENTS MUST BE SENT TO THE SCADU PO BOX ADDRESS AS NOTED ABOVE***
PO BOX 844500
LOS ANGELES, CA 90084-4500
If an employer receives notices to withhold income for
more than one employee, the employer may consolidate the fee amounts
payable to the State Treasurer and pay those
amounts with one submission or check.
Employer's Cost Recovery
NRS 31A.090 allows employers to deduct up to $3.00 for each
withholding from the amount paid the employee as reimbursement for the
employer's cost of carrying out their
Is there any additional reporting due when remitting the collected fees on a quarterly basis?
The only requirement under the statute is to include with
every remittance a statement identifying by name and social security
obligor from whom the fee was collected and the amount
transmitted for that obligor.
If the employer has a weekly payroll do they have to send a check every week?
No. The maximum number of times employers must withhold
this fee is twice per month per employee. They have the option of how
send the monies collected to the State Treasurer's
office, but must submit the fees at least quarterly.
Who do employers contact with additional questions?
For general questions employers may call the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services Customer Service Unit at (775) 684-0704.
Questions may be emailed to: firstname.lastname@example.org