
PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY 

NOTICE OF DECISION

Hospital’s Name ______  __________________________________ ____________________________

_________________________________ ____________________________________ 

___________________________ 

Case Manager

Applicant’s Name 

 

Billing No. 

Applicant’s Date of Birth

On ____________________  ____________________
   Month/Day/Year 

, Medicaid benefits for the Presumptive Eligibility application dated
 Month/Day/Year 

 were: 

____________________ ___________________ Approved effective 
  Month/Year 

ending effective

_______________________________________________________________ _

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 _________________________________________________ _____________________________________

 Month/Year 

 Denied  

Reason for Denial: 

The applicant does not meet citizenship requirements. 

The applicant is not a Nevada resident. 

The applicant’s income is above the Federal Poverty Limit. 

The applicant is receiving Medicaid through another category of assistance. 

The applicant has received Presumptive Eligibility within the last 2 years. 

Other

COMMENTS:

Case Manager Signature  Date

Individuals determined eligible for Presumptive Eligibility are entitled to benefits from the date the hospital determined 

them presumptively eligible until: 

• the day a DWSS eligibility determination is made on a full Medicaid application; or

• when an application for Medicaid has not been filed, the last day of the month following the month the

determination of presumptive eligibility was made.

You must submit an Application for Medical Assistance to the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services prior to the 

end of the Presumptive eligibility period.  You can apply online or obtain an application at dwss.nv.gov. 

This notice may be used as proof of medical assistance eligibility for 10 days from the date of approval.  A 

Medicaid/Nevada Check-Up card will be mailed to you.  The eligible member must show their card or notice to the 

doctor, pharmacist, hospital or other medical care provider as proof of medical assistance eligibility. 

Nevada law mandates that “a person who is a recipient of Medicaid or insurance pursuant to the Children’s Health 

Insurance Program may not opt out of having his or her individually identifiable health information disclosed 

electronically” (NRS 439.538). When a patient is no longer a Medicaid recipient, it is the patient’s responsibility to 

change their consent choice. At any time, you may revoke your consent by signing a new consent form and giving it to 

your doctors. These forms are available at your doctor’s office. 

The determination of Hospital Presumptive Eligibility does not provide the right to an appeal or hearing.  If you 

disagree with the decision made you must complete a Medicaid application. 
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